Deletions Guide

This version of the Deletions Guide is made to provide an exhausting reference tool for staff with questions, concerns, and comments about the processing of articles which have reached the deletion threshold. The version which is designed for users is location on the wiki itself there this guide used to be kept.

Foreword

In order to maintain our standards of quality, pages found to be substandard are deleted. These deletions are, in the vast majority of instances, decided upon by the community through voting and carried out by the administration. There are exceptions for submissions that are found to be in violation of site policy. Below is a concise explanation of standard deletions policy, summary deletions policy, and other pertinent information. No matter the reason for deletion, deletions are always announced, with reasons clearly given.

Grace Period

Pages are afforded a grace period of 24 hours after its regular deletion vote has been posted, during which time they are not eligible for deletion though they can be voted on for deletion by staff. There are circumstances in which this grace period is waived (see Summary Deletion below), but generally speaking, it’s safe to assume this applies.

Standard Process

When a page’s rating falls to -10, that page becomes eligible for deletion. A member of Senior Staff will then make a post in its discussion thread, titled "Staff Post - Deletion Vote", which will carry a timer to denote its 24 hour grace period. Only members of Senior Staff are to reply to these posts, and generally will do so in one of three ways: concurring, voting against, or suggesting archiving. A vote against deletion negates one vote for. Archiving is explained later in this guide.

When a page reaches three Staff votes for deletion, and its deletion timer has run out, a Mod or Admin will carry out the actual deletion. The Mod or Admin will then make a post in the current deletions thread on the announcements forum, stating the deletion has been carried out, confirming the number of votes and the page's final rating.

If a page’s rating rises above -10 during an active Deletion Vote, all votes for deletion prior to this are voided. Should it fall again, voting for deletion must begin anew, though it does not get a new grace period.

In very rare cases, an author may be granted a stay of deletion to make edits or rewrite a page. Consideration of these requests is on a case-by-case basis, as oftentimes, the best thing is to start again from a clean slate.

Supplementary pages, such as interviews, incidents, experiment logs, and the like, will be automatically deleted when their parent page is. In the event that Staff determine that supplementary materials could stand on their own as Tales and should the author wish so, supplements may be exempted from deletion when their parent is deleted. Authors may repost supplements as standalone works to be judged separately as they see fit.

Archiving (-ARC suffix)

The -ARC suffix on a page denotes that it has been archived instead of deleted. There are a few reasons for a page to be archived rather than deleted. Most often, it’s because an SCP is referenced in other SCP articles and/or Tales that are well-rated, and deletion of the archived page would muddle the works that reference it. There are also things that Staff simply want to keep around, albeit off the main list. The process for archiving a page is identical to the process for deletions, with suggestions for -ARC typically occurring after initiation of the deletion vote, save the page is renamed rather than culled.

Reasons for Deletion Without Grace Period

Rewrite

In the event that an article or story has been rewritten, a page may be deleted to clear the page score and provide the rewritten article a clean slate with which to proceed. Pages will only be deleted for this reason if the rewritten article or story is complete and ready to post, and the author has gone through the appropriate channels and has been approved by a majority vote of the Rewrite Team.

Summary Deletion

When a page is summarily deleted, the normal Deletions process is ignored. Instead, a member of Senior Staff will post in the discussion thread for the page with a post titled "Staff Post - Summary Deletion" in which they will outline their reasons for initiating Summary Deletion. They will then seek at least one other Senior Staff member's agreement on their reasons for Summary Deletion. If such a witness can be found, the page may be summarily deleted. These Deletions are announced as normal, and should include the deleting party and their witness for reference. Copies may be retained for record-keeping purposes.

Reasons for Summary Deletion

Trolling

If Staff believe a page was posted with the intent of trolling, it may be summarily deleted.

Plagiarism and Intellectual Theft

If a page is believed to have copied from another work, in part or in whole, on this wiki or elsewhere, or if it conceptually borrows heavily from another work, and if the new work makes no effort to credit the original work or its creator,1 it may be summarily deleted on the basis of plagiarism or intellectual theft.

Articles Outside of Range

The SCP mainlist articles are currently restricted to numbers between 001 and 3999 (Series I, II, III, and IV). In the event that an article is posted outside of this range, staff may begin Summary Deletion. Authors may repost their articles within the acceptable range as they see fit.

Other reasons

Malicious content, such as links to viruses, sexually explicit material, spam, advertising, and illegal content are all grounds for summary deletion.

Pages that are clearly unfinished (e.g. articles with blank sections or [insert text here] notes) are subject to summary deletion, as only finished works should be submitted to the mainsite. Staff may vote for summary deletion at the posting of the article, but will not carry out the deletion until 30 minutes after the last published edit by the author. The deletion will not occur if there is an active page edit lock.

Failed self-deletions are also grounds for Summary Deletion (see below).

Summary deletion may also be enacted if members attempt to "game" site procedure, such as re-posting an un-rewritten article in an attempt to get around downvotes.

Other Pertinent Information

Author Request

If an author should request their material be removed, and be able to prove authorship beyond a reasonable doubt, these requests are granted with no further questions asked.

Self-Deletion

Authors have the ability to delete their own work at any time. This is accomplished by clicking "Options" at the bottom of the page, clicking "Delete", and selecting checkbox for, "Delete Completely". Be sure to select "Delete Completely", as a failure to do this does not remove the page, it simply moves it to the "Deleted" category. Self-deletions should be announced in the current deletions thread in the Announcements forum, just like any other deletion.

If an author attempts to self-delete their work and fails to do so properly, either by blanking the page or renaming it, it will be deleted fully by Staff as a Summary Deletion. Please feel free to bring improper deletions to Staff's attention, but don't revert or edit them yourself.

Votes From Deleted Accounts

All votes on a page from deleted accounts are voided; if a page is at -10 with two downvotes from deleted accounts, that page is treated as being at -8, and would not be eligible for deletion. Similarly, if a page were rated -8, with two upvotes from deleted accounts, that page would be eligible. Senior Staff able to do so can install the Real Rating Info userscript from the User Tools page. This will show the actual rating minus double votes, votes from deleted accounts and if applicable author self-upvotes. It does not filter out votes from banned users.

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License